Octopath Traveller Fanfiction: What Money Can’t Buy (Spoiler Review)

For the past few months, I have been playing a game called “Octopath Traveller” for the Nintendo Switch. I swear to God, this game just kept getting better and better. . I mean seriously, the game is just incredible. I think Primrose is pretty much my favorite character in this entire game. The music is incredible, the story is really really strong for most of the characters, individuals are amazing. And then I played the game for like five hours just now. That’s how good it is. In fact, the game was so good that I decided to go read some fan fiction about the game….which lead to me reviewing “What Money Can’t Buy”.

Essentially, Alfin gets super sick and Tressa and friends have to find the cure.

I really enjoyed this little short story. I think that it captured the characters really well as portrayed in the game, yet it is able to flush out their interactions with one another, would you really never see in the game that much. The story did an incredible job of giving both the depth to the relationships between the various characters and also giving off the vibe that these guys are actually a family. I really like that they made the relationship between Tressa and Alfin to be genuinely heartbreaking and really enjoyable. The writing was also done really well, it flows well and it does a great job of caring the emotional turmoil and drama that’s residing in each character as well as the banter between them. I would say that the most powerful seen in the whole book who is easily when Teresa has the bargain with the evil merchant and she almost gives up herself just to get the antidote to save her friend.  This is easily my favorite scene in the whole book and I think it made the book all the more memorable for it. I also thought that the dynamic between Primrose and Tressa was done super super well, specifically I love the hell primrose was kind of a mentor to our young protagonist and kind of lectured about what love is an about not being rash. I think it really adds to the story and I really enjoyed it. But the other characters are really fun too and I just loved how they interact with each other and just their back-and-forth was incredible. Now what is the story perfect? No. I think towards the end it started to drag on, but I feel like that my enjoyment of the book was so high that I’m able to look past it.

With that being said I give this book a solid 4.20/5.00 stars – a well-crafted fanfiction that nails the characters will also enhancing the overall experience of the game by adding a layer of death and intrigue to the relationships of each of the characters.